top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChehak Khattar

Once upon a time


Once upon a time

When it got hard being me

When no further I could see

When my soul wasn't free


Once upon a time

When I couldn't get up

When my head was messed up

When I had no back up



Did I live or just exist?

When life passed as a gentle swift.

What was it that my heart had missed

I could feel the darkness kiss.


When it got hard being me

When no further I could see

When my soul wasn't free.




But then





But then I saw you.

When you passed through.

An ounce of relief I felt.

Something, that I wasn't used to.


Before my hopes went high

I returned to the darkness with a sigh

But I wouldn't deny,

That one look was sublime.


I remember that day

When you casually said, "Hey!"

I hadn't a clue of what to say,

But my life was colourful from grey.


Oh dear, you couldn't see

But you hit me like a poetry

It felt like some of my soul was free

And it got easier being me


I remember watching you vulnerable

Your heart and head unstable

All other sounds in the cafe were fable

I had never seen you so miserable.


We talked that night for hours

About all the sweet and sours

I was happy in this little world of ours

You gave me these beautiful powers


For me, the most happiest day

Was when you said what I wanted to say

You really took my breath away

Made it the best birthday!



And now

You have made it easier being me

With you I could further see

Alas! my soul is free


~© Chehak.



Credits

Editting and paraphrasing : Yasharth

Thank you so much Yasharth for polishing this poem on such a short notice!



Thank you for reading.

202 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Romanticizing My Life

Has it ever occurred to you to take a pause and look back at the life you’ve lived? Today is one of those days for me. I’ve seen people “romanticize their lives” using pictures and videos. I however,

Women's Day : What it really means to women.

Let me start this blog by apologising for being MIA for the past few months. There's no excuse. I didn't feel like writing anything and didn't want to post anything half-heartedly. Coming to today's t

Vo din bhi kya din the

"Attention everyone! I want you guys to remember the most memorable time we have spent and text me ASAP." I messaged in my friends group the other day. Back came so many responses. Nobody had just a s

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page